Jack Nicholson and YOUR Job-Search

Jack Nicholson is one of those iconic figures that everyone knows who he is and what he does. One thing that most people don’t know is that Jack knows job-search.

Don’t believe be? Take a look at some of the things that he has said over the years:

Frankly, I got into the movies because I like the movies a lot. He followed his passion.

I know I can act. There aren’t too many other jobs I know how to do. Knows what he is good at and made others believe it to.

In this industry, there are only two ways up the ladder. Rung by rung or claw your way to the top. It’s sure been tough on my nails. Job-search is hard work and the one willing to go the extra mile will normally prevail.

Just let the wardrobe do the acting. You have got to have stage presence and look the part.

With my sunglasses on, I’m Jack Nicholson. Without them, I’m fat and 60. Again, look the part to get the part.

The minute that you’re not learning I believe you’re dead. Learn the latest and greatest on how to find work – do the research and see what works.

My whole career strategy has been to build a base so that I could take the roles I want to play. I’d hate to think that a shorter part might not be available because I was worried about my billing. Career management baby – that’s where it’s at!

I’ll tell you one thing: Don’t ever give anybody your best advice, because they’re not going to follow it. AMEN! Nearly ten years helping people with their job-search preaching networking everyday BECAUSE IT WORKS and the vast majority being unwilling to put the effort and work it takes to make it happen.

Another thing about Jack Nicholson is that he also picks characters that know job-search as well – see below.

He-e-e-e-re’s Johnny! (Jack Torrance, The Shining) Work hard to be good enough at what you do that you are able to introduce yourself in such a way (just don’t try to harm the people you are saying it to).

You can’t handle the truth. (Colonel Nathan Jessup, A Few Good Men)  Sometimes there is a reason that you don’t find out why you weren’t selected.

This is a brutal layoff. And all because they couldn’t program Wednesday nights. (Bill Rorich, Broadcast News) Layoffs are never easy and rarely positive (believe me, I have been there and have the t-shirt) but you do have to pick up the pieces and move forward.

Wait’ll they get a load of me. (The Joker, Batman) You need to have some self-confidence and some swagger to be successful in your search.

You want to investigate me, roll the dice and take your chances. I eat breakfast 300 yards from 4000 Cubans who are trained to kill me, so don’t think for one second that you can come down here, flash a badge, and make me nervous. (Colonel Nathan Jessup, A Few Good Men)  Know your situation, your background, what people say about you, and everything in-between so that you can be confident in what will happen when (NOT IF) you get to the background check process.

Little pigs, little pigs, let me come in. Not by the hair of your chiny-chin-chin? Well then I’ll huff and I’ll puff, and I’ll blow your house in. (Jack Torrance, The Shining) Be persistent in your search and know where your skills can be best utilized.

All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. (Jack Torrance, The Shining) Sometimes you have just got to get away from the search and have a little bit of ‘you’ time.

Have any doubt that Jack knows job-search now? I didn’t think so.

Until next time – good hunting and good luck!

One response to “Jack Nicholson and YOUR Job-Search

  1. Matt,

    You’re a job search poet. Well written, with a terrific list of job search truths that can make any job seekers life easier.

    Bill

Leave a Reply

