Jeopardy!: The Job-Search Edition

I am a sucker for game shows and one of my all time favorites is Jeopardy!

On the off-chance you are not familiar with Jeopardy!, it is a is trivia quiz show featuring topics that range across the board. The show has a unique answer-and-question format in which contestants are presented with clues in the form of answers, and must phrase their responses in question form.

In this post, in true Jeopardy! fashion, we will give an answer followed by the acceptable questions that would take you one step closer to being the winner.

The answer is “No.’ Here are the questions that will be accepted:

  • What is, Can a recruiter find me a job?
  • What is, Do most people find jobs online?
  • What is, Am I a good candidate for this position if I have to ask someone else if I am?
  • What is, Will someone else find you a job?
  • What is, Should I have stopped my search over the holidays?

The answer is “Networking.’ Here are the questions that will be accepted:

  • What is, The most effective way to find a job
  • What is, The piece of job-search that no one wants to do
  • What is, The part of job-search that people know works but still don’t do it.

The answer is “Get over it‘ Here are the questions that will be accepted:

  • What is, What if my previous employer did me wrong?
  • What is, I did not get the offer I was expecting?

The answer is, ‘You are and you would.‘ Here are the questions that will be accepted:

  • What is, Why are people saying am I over qualified and would leave if something better came along?
  • What is, Why did the hiring manager say I am not a cultural fit and that I would be unhappy here?

The answer is “Maybe because it needs to be improved.‘ Here are the questions that will be accepted:

  • What is, Why does no one call when I submit my resume?
  • What is, Why does no one contact me based on my LinkedIn profile?

The answer is “Probably because you are not qualified or they have received 10,000 other responses.’ Here are the questions that will be accepted:

  • What is, Why is no one interested in hiring me as a _____ (you fill in the blank)?
  • What is, I have sent in 1,000 résumé and no one has called?

The answer is “Quit complaining about not being hired.’ Here are the questions that will be accepted:

  • What is, Why do I need to network, I have sent in over 500 résumés?
  • What is, Why should an introvert network when I can submit my information online?
  • What is, What time does Oprah come on today?
  • What is, Why should I not send my résumé to every job I see?
  • What is, Why should I do research on the company before I interview with them?
  • What is, Why should I consider jobs that are further than 10 miles away from my home?

The answer is, ‘I am not with the times.” Here are the questions that will be accepted:

  • What is, Why is faxing in a résumé no longer relevant?
  • What is, Can you tell me what LinkedIn is?
  • What is, Can you help me find ______ (fill in the blank with anything that can be easily found on Google)?
  • What is, Why do I need my own website?

Hope you got all of the answers without any help!

Until next time, good hunting and good luck!

Share/Bookmark//

2 responses to “Jeopardy!: The Job-Search Edition

  1. This is very good. Would be fun to create and allow jobseekers to play during a workshop.

  2. I think this is a great presentation of the key foundations of a successful job search.

    I am 100% positive that NETWORKING is the keyring to the keys that will open the lock. Granted, just as every key is not a perfect fit to a particular lock, the more keys you have on your keyring the greater the odds that a network contact (on your keyring) will help you unlock the door.

Leave a Reply

