A Dog, Space Balls, 1 Corinthians 9:24 & Your Job-Search

I know it’s not everyday that you think about how a dog, a movie, and a Bible verse can impact your search for a new job but sometimes you need to put things that do not go together together to see the bigger picture.
.
A dog. Meet Grady, our family’s newest edition, a very cute dog that has a problem – no one knows what he is.

Many go down the pit bull route, some go down the boxer route, others go down the, “What kind of mix is he?” route. I guess if I had not owned one before I would not know that Grady is an American Bulldog either.

So the question is, how can a dog with an identity problem affect your search?

The question you need to ask yourself is, are you the Grady of job-search? Can people look at your background or the way you market yourself and figure out the most basic of questions – what it is that you do. If not, you should consider going back to the drawing board.
.
.

“I see your Schwartz is as big as mine.” I know that most of Space Balls is eighth grade humor at best (especially the clip above which is why so many guys love it) but this one line does have a lot of truth when it comes to job-search.

Many folks out there can do the same exact job as you (i.e. their schwartz is as big as yours) so it all comes down to how you market yourself and explain why you are the candidate of choice.

If others are having trouble seeing the value you bring to the table you might consider figuring out where you are going wrong in selling the what, when, where, and how of why you are the best out there.
.
.

The Bible verse. I love reading the Bible and make a habit out reading it everyday. One of my favorite practical verses is 1 Corinthians 9:24, “Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.”

Are you running the job-search race in such a way that you will get the prize (a new job)? Do some research and figure out how others are finding jobs – are you putting some of the same tactics into practice in your search? If not, why not?

If you are having trouble seeing progress in your search you might consider looking at new ways to go about getting the end result.

Until next time, good hunting and good luck!

11 responses to “A Dog, Space Balls, 1 Corinthians 9:24 & Your Job-Search

  1. Very inspiring – thanks for taking the time to share.

  2. Great analogy, Matt! Thanks for sharing.

    Lisa

  3. Paul’s direction at 1 Corinthians 9:24 is sound but Solomon’s observation at Ecclesiastes 9:11 unfortunately trumps our preparation. I have been very successful at my efforts all my life, but unfortunately at 64 that no longer seems to matter.

  4. Here are some more quotes, related to the same book – the message is to keep with it!

    The race is not always to the swift, but to those who keep on running. ~Author unknown, in reference to Ecclesiastes 9:11, “I returned, and saw under the sun, that the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, neither yet bread to the wise, nor yet riches to men of understanding, nor yet favour to men of skill; but time and chance happeneth to them all.”

    There is no telling how many miles you will have to run while chasing a dream. ~Author Unknown

    Never think that God’s delays are God’s denials. Hold on; hold fast; hold out. Patience is genius. ~Georges-Louis Leclerc

    As a means to success, determination has this advantage over talent – that it does not have to be recognized by others. ~Robert Brault

    And this last one is from a realist newsman from a century past:
    The race is not always to the swift nor the battle to the strong, but that’s the way to bet. ~Damon Runyon

  5. I have found that the Bible is a source of inspiration and maintaining a positive outlook, “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11 NIV I also agree that as a person gets past a certain age, it is much more difficult to land the job. May we all live long and prosper.

    Bob

  6. Pingback: Tweets that mention A Dog, Space Balls, 1 Corinthians 9:24 & Your Job-Search « A Recruiters Guide to the Universe -- Topsy.com

  7. I loved this prospective! If someone looks at your resume and asks what you are; it is very true that you need to improve your resume. It could also means you are applying at the wrong type of company.

    I love dogs! I love all breeds of dogs; some more than others. This is true with people; I love people, some more than others. What is most true; I love people with dogs. I love working with people who love dogs. I have to admit I am surrounded by love now. I work with a lot of dog lovers and I love my job.

    Thanks for totally making my Monday morning!

  8. Love Love Love this post, Matt … I’m tweeting it right now!

    Best,
    Cindy

  9. Yes, very enlightening. Are you running the race to Finish, or to WIN?
    May the Schwartz be with you.

  10. Definitely inspiring to all. THe job search is never easy and the process to separate yourself and show your skills and abilities and why you should be hired is key. Thanks Matt for sharing.

    Vince Barnes

Leave a Reply

