The Question Song, Recruiter Style

Tom Wilson, the guy who played Biff on the Back to the Future movies, is a stand up comedian who has one of my favorite ‘comedy songs’ ever – The Question Song (see below) and it got me to thinking about the most common questions that I get as a recruiter.

Having been in the recruiting business for several years it seems like I have been asked the questions that go with these answers a million times –

  1. No, recruiters cannot ‘find’ you a job, we are paid by companies to find you
    …..
  2. If you want to get down to it my client is the hiring manager, not the job-seeker
    ,
  3. Yes, I have a heart for people who are looking for work but there is only a small percentage of job-seekers that I can truly help (outside of giving some advice to them)
    ,
  4. Most recruiters specialize in a particular area, mine is IT
    .
  5. If you are looking to switch careers I am not the best person to talk to (at lease in my day job)
    .
  6. No, I will not give you the name of the hiring managers I work with
    .
  7. In most cases employers are only interested in paying me to find people that are currently doing what they are looking for (ie currently working doing the same exact job)
    .
  8. Yes, I do have a lot of connections on LinkedIn (most recruiters do) and no I will not forward your referral request without a compelling reason (most people will not)
    .
  9. No, I will not tell you all of the companies I work with
    .
  10. Yes, it is important that you track exactly where your résumé has gone and who you have interviewed with
    .
  11. No, I would not go to a recruiter if I was looking for a job right now, I would use networking as my main tool
    .
  12. No, being on LinkedIn will not tell your hiring manager that you are looking for work
    ,
  13. Yes, Twitter is becoming more and more important and yes I do use Facebook as a recruiting tool

Now that we have that cleared up, how can I assist you in your search?

Until next time, good hunting and good luck!

Share

Leave a Reply

