Charlie Sheen – Job-Search Blackbelt?!

If you have eyes to see or ears to hear you know that the last week has been all Charlie Sheen all the time . While it would be easy to talk about “winning” or having “tiger blood” and “Adonis DNA” or even “fire-breathing fists” and an ability to have poetry in your fingertips we are not going to go there (well maybe just a little bit).
.
If you look back into some of the things that Charlie Sheen has said in the past it reveals that Charlie knows job-search (I am smelling a Bo Jackson type commercial).
.
.

“I just didn’t believe I was like everybody else. I thought I was unique. I still don’t have all the answers. I’m more interested in what I can do next than what I did last. ” That pretty much wraps up success in the job-search in two sentences. Show that you are unique and that you will be able to be succesful in the future no matter what the past has held (I told you he was a genius).

“Life all comes down to a few moments. This is one of them.” Amen to that Charlie!! My Dad once told me that you are judged more on how you pick yourself up in a tough situation than how you act in an easy one. Job-search is tough and your ability to respond and perform during your search will define you for years to come..

“Those of us who did make it have an obligation to build again, to teach others what we know, and to try with what’s left of our lives to find a goodness and meaning to this life.” Once you land a job make sure you don’t forget those who are still in the trenches and fighting the good fight. Make sure to read our previous post related to job-search and this topic and how it relates to George Costanza.

 (ok, ok, ok – I do have to include a couple of his quotes from last week)

“The scoreboard doesn’t lie. Never has.” Ever wonder why others land new opportunities while you do not? Nealy 85% of the time it’s because they knew the right person (ie networking). S-C-O-R-E-B-O-A-R-D.
 
“Shut up. Stop. Move forward.” Get over yourself and your hangups and move forward in the next step of your life and your job-search. I know that it is never easy to hear and easier said than done but it is the honest to goodness truth.
.
“We win so radically in our underwear before our first cup of coffee, it’s scary.” Everything in your job-search needs to be positive and you need to portray yourself as a winner – even in your underwear before you first cup of coffee.
.
“Clearly I have defeated this earthworm with my words.” No words could ever describe how much I like this quote. It has nothing to do with job-search and everything to do with me loving it. I just wanted to include it in this post.
. 
I don’t really ask too much of you all who choose to read my rants, thoughts, and ideas but I would like to take a page out of Charlie’s book of quotes and use the ‘share this’ button below to help me create a “tsunami of media … on a mercury surfboard.”
.
Until next time – good hunting and good luck!

Share

2 responses to “Charlie Sheen – Job-Search Blackbelt?!

  1. Some of us resort to Sheen-like tactics in our job search. Unfortunately, with most recruiters and hiring companies not responding to their job applications, there’s no way to tell what works and what doesn’t. What does help: Persistence.

  2. just when I’d had enough of Charlie Sheen, you may found the best take on him yet. But I’m still having trouble deciding whether we are seeing great self-confidence, egomaniacal ranting or drug warped thinking. Anyway, he got fired so maybe I won’t take job search advice too seriously from him!

Leave a Reply

