Tom Petty is a Job-Search Maestro

I recently made a change from agency recruiting to corporate recruiting (for more on that experience you can check out this post on my other blog 12recruiters) and after going through the experience of being recruited, interviewed, and ultimately selected I have come to a conclusion – Tom Petty is a job-search prophet.

In his song ‘The Waiting’ the chorus (which is below) speaks of a piece of job-search that can be the most difficult – the WAITING in between steps of the hiring process.

The waiting is the hardest part
Everyday you see one more card
You take it on faith, you take it to the heart
The waiting is the hardest part 

During the time from which I was contacted until I my first day on the new job the waiting was definitely the hardest part of the process that I went through. During that period I was very fortunate – the recruiter I worked with (Jessica Nichols with Wilson HCG) and my manager were both very good about giving feedback and letting me know where things stood (which is not always the case).

My situation was a little unique in that I was not actively looking for a new opp – it found me so I had plenty going on at work to keep me busy but I can only imagine how much harder the waiting would be if I was in a situation where I was in-between jobs.

With that in mind I started thinking about ways to take up time in a job-search while waiting (and still being productive) and here is what was come up with:

Keep on trucking. An active job-search should be like a racetrack (continual motion) more than a drive through town (start, stop, start, stop) and it should never wait on feedback on opportunity. If you have submitted your information for a posting and waiting for feedback or have finished your final interview and are awaiting feedback  the search for other opportunities should never stop.

Volunteer. Volunteering is an excellent way to pick up new skills, expand your network, and take up some time. For more info on the benefits of volunteering as part of a job-search check out this post.

Learn a new skill. Nothing can take your mind off of waiting and improve your future prospects like learning a new skill. Do some research, find out whats missing in your skill set and go after it!

Blog! Nothing can take up some time like creating, writing, and maintaining a blog. It’s good for keeping your mind off of things, sharing your knowledge, and branding yourself as an expert in your arena.

I know that I am missing some productive ways to keep your mind of the search while waiting – what are yours?

Until next time – good hunting and good luck!

6 responses to “Tom Petty is a Job-Search Maestro

  1. Great post Matt! I agree that waiting is so difficult. Even after I had been offered and accepted my job, I still had to wait a week for the background check to clear. It was such a long week!

  2. Matt,

    Congrats on the new assignment! My past experience as a recruiter and now as a career coach matches yours. I tell my clients that no new job offer is secure until after the first paycheck clears. And that the best possible time to make the most outward bound job search calls is when you have another offer pending. Either you get a great negotiating tool, or the ego boost that they missed out on a great hire.

  3. Matt
    Your comments are great and really accurate for anyone in a job search.
    The hardest part of the ‘last’ interview before the hire decision is made is to realize that you can not place all your hope on the fact that you will be the person selected for he job and stop your job search momentum. You need to keep sourcing, networking and applying for other positions until you have the offer and you are actually at work on the new job. All to often
    the person seeking the job feels so good about the interview and they know they are going to get the job so they stop or reduce their job search process and you know what happens then. The job is offered to someone else.
    Your advise is great. Thanks for sharing with all.

    Any

  4. Great article & great song….sooo true….waiting is the hardest part! Love Tom Petty!

  5. Thanks for the shoutout, Matt! I would’ve never guessed you were tense. Cool as a cucumber you were during the process. 🙂 Congrats on your new role!

Leave a Reply

