Is Your Next Career Opportunity Worth It?

Creating and keeping goals; reaching out to strangers to create the opportunity to reach out to and talk to more strangers; using new tools you’ve never used before; putting yourself out there; having to do deep research (on both yourself and others); having to work hard day in and day out at things you have never done before.

Easily a bunch of things the vast majority of the population are uncomfortable with, are unwilling to do, maybe even (at least internally feel like they are) unable to do.

I am in the middle of a year-long devotion series by Rick Warren (of Purpose Driven Life fame) and my reading yesterday had a few interesting things that hit home when it comes to job-search.

He said that “Great goals require great sacrifice.” and asked three questions in support of that idea:

  1. What will it cost?
  2. What am I willing to give?
  3. Is it worth it?

So my questions for you:

Are you willing to do things that might be out of the box for you in order to get where you want? What are you willing to give? Are YOU worth it? Is your career worth it?

I talk to a lot of people about their search and there are a few things I hear over and over:

  • I know _____ (normally networking) works but I don’t feel comfortable doing it
  • I hear what you’re saying but….. (normally after we talk about the networking process and why its important)
  • I know that I should set goals but…..
  • I know that people have had success doing _____ (insert networking, Twitter, LinkedIn, etc) but I just don’t want to.
  • I don’t, I can’t, I won’t, I’m unable, I’m uncomfortable, I’m not…..

It’s gut check time folks – either you want it or you don’t. 

If you do – do something different, do something bold. Tell yourself that you are worth it and make YOUR job-search happen (man I fell like a coach going back to the field after halftime)!

If you say you do (but aren’t really willing to do things proven to work and go out on a limb and do things differently) go on back to spending eight hours a day sending resumes in and filling out applications. Chances are the people who do things differently will probably end up in the jobs in which you apply to.

Please don’t take me challenging you as being hateful, or not understanding, or this or that because I don’t hate you, I do understand (I’ve been there, done that, and got the t-shirt) and only want the best for you in your search.

Until next time – good hunting and good luck!

3 responses to “Is Your Next Career Opportunity Worth It?

  1. Matt,

    Thanks for writing down what I’ve found most folks are experiencing as they’re suffering through finding a new job. I’m looking forward to your next blog. I hope you’ll share your experience on why they’re not taking the actions they know are required to get hired.

  2. BRAVO…Matt, you get a standing ovation on this one!

  3. Matt
    Great words for everyone to live, what has anyone got to loose by stepping outside of their comfort zone. To achieve great things, you must do things you have never done.

    Best regards
    Jill Lindsey

Leave a Reply

