I Want My MTV Back (You Can Have Your Job-Search)

“I want my, I want my, I want my MTV” – so said Dire Straits in their song Money For Nothing (one of my all time favorites).

When I was growing up there was one station that was always on – MTV. I loved the music, loved the videos, loved the VJ’s, and loved the attitude. Over the years that has eroded to what MTV is now – unwatchable, unbearable, and really everything ‘un’ that is not good.

In many people’s eyes job-search has gone the same way.

They used to be able to go in to an organization and fill out an application, they used to be able to do this or do that and now things have changed.

It’s time for some harsh truth today – MTV isn’t going back and neither is job-search so we all have to deal with it.

To be succesful in today’s job-search world you need to understand the why, where, when, and how of today’s business environment and how to interact with those that move the recruitment process forward.

Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn have replaced going in to fill out an application as a potential first contact and first impression with a company / recruiter. If you make a bad impression (or make NO impression) the game is probably over with before it gets started but if you work things right it can open doors up, if not with their organization then with their network.

If you really want to go back to handwriting applications and not being able to interact with people inside an organization other than turning that application you can have it – I just want my MTV back.

Until next time – good hunting and good luck!

Leave a Reply

