George Costanza, Interviews, & Exit Statements

When you interview for a new role you know the questions are coming, you know they are going to be asked, but somehow you are still surprised when they are.

“Why did you leave your last job” and “the one before that…” and “the one before that….”

If you are not prepared you might be a little too honest like in the exchange below from Seinfeld.

Cushman: Why don’t you tell me about some of your previous job experience?

George Costanza: Alrighty. My last job was in publishing. I got fired for having sex in my office with the cleaning woman.

Cushman: Go on.

George Costanza: All right. Before that, I was in real estate. I quit because the boss wouldn’t let me use his private bathroom. That was it.

Cushman: Do you talk to everybody like this?

George Costanza: Of course.

Cushman: My niece told me you were different.

George Costanza: I am different, yeah.

One of the key pieces that gets left out of the toolbox of most job-seekers is a prefabricated exit statement – an explanation on why you have left each company that you have worked for.

With one you can have a STANDARD, MEMORIZED, POSITIVE statement surrounding each situation you have encountered while exiting stage left and without one you might sound a bit too Costanza-ish.

Until next time – good hunting and good luck!

3 responses to “George Costanza, Interviews, & Exit Statements

  1. You write that it’s necessary to have a “STANDARD, MEMORIZED, POSITIVE statement surrounding each situation you have encountered while exiting stage left.”

    For example??

    Thank you!

  2. Debbie Blume hamilton

    So true! I speak to too many candidates that stumble on this question and end up giving me MORE info than they should.

  3. Dear Matt,
    Sad to say, I do recognise this scenario. I’ve got a bad-bad habit of preparing the questions I’d like to ask the prospective employer to a T; to then turn around and wing my answers to their questions.

    Thank goodness, my interviews usually don’t go Costanza-ish and generally I’d be all right. But I learnt the hard way that charms and wit can only get you so far. And I’m quite sure that the last interview I had, could’ve gone a whole lot better had I prepared some strategic answers and done some role playing (in my head) concerning the work.

    Quess, Live and Learn? In any case I know that I’ll be having a better (prepared) job hunting in the future. You can count on that. 🙂

    Greetings, Evita

Leave a Reply

