Does Weight Loss Hold The Secret To Finding A Job?

It’s the beginning of the year and people have made their ‘resolutions’ (99.9% of which will be forgotten by March) – to lose weight, to get more involved in Church, to find a new job, etc. 

Over the course of my many years living on this earth I have given up on making resolutions because I am human, I get lazy, and I put them off until next year just like everyone else. However, about mid-January, Christina (my much better half) and I made a goal (NOT a resolution) to get in better hape in 2012.

We have started keeping better tabs on what we eat and when we eat it and have also started doing P90x together to help the process along. I am not going to say that the plan is fool-proof and that I look amazing (yet) but I can feel a difference in the way my clothes fit and my overall energy level for sure.

The other day I sat down and really thought about what the process of losing weight and getting in shape and realized just how it and job-search are alike.

To lose weight you need to eat less and exercise more. Simple formula but can be hard to do because it takes drive, determination, and effort. Because of the difficulties that lie there within there are people that try to sell miracle products that are supposed to help you get the end result without putting in the work (they don’t work).

The formula for job-search success is a simple one as well. Focus on networking and building your brand while talking to a recruiter or two and applying to a job every now and then along the way.

Just like with weight loss, job-search success provides a simple path to success but very few take it because it takes drive, determination, and effort. As with weight loss there are people that offer miracle solutions that promise to get you hired quickly (they don’t work).

Back in 1968 Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell sang “Ain’t Nothing Like the Real Thing” and when it comes to weight loss and job-search you can try the ‘miracles’ but there is nothing like getting back to things that are proven to work.

If you decide that your job-search and career are worth the extra effort take a look at our previous post on networking to help get you started.

Until next time – good hunting and good luck.

3 responses to “Does Weight Loss Hold The Secret To Finding A Job?

  1. Well……..My problem have always been eating too fast…. I can’t get enough as my brain does not even realize it started eating – even though I’m already done

    New Year resolutions are just an excuse for waiting till next year the moment you break 🙂

    I did find that my weight did not hold me back as I am successful in what I do and got promoted ~every two-three years … but I guess you mainly refer to “put the foot in the door” situation

    Nice Article – well written (I enjoyed it)

  2. Very true!
    Thanks for sharing!

  3. GR8 blog topic and definately “Spot On” in tying the two together with a strong parallel. Awesome Job.

Leave a Reply

